Gourmet teas straight from Japan, selected for you by our sommelier

About Thés du Japon

Our story

“Thés du Japon” is the story of two Frenchmen who met in a marvelous and inspiring land: Japan. They have both been living in Japan for many years – over two decades – and are very familiar with the complexity and refinement of the Japanese. One of them, the first French Japanese Tea Instructor (Nihon-cha Instructor), received his diploma in 2009, and is a well-known figure in the demanding world of tea specialists, where precision is a way of life. It requires passion, a fine sense of taste and a great deal of commitment.

Our Japanese tea “sommelier”

The first French person in Japan to have received the “Nihon-cha Instructor” diploma

  • Florent Weugue has been a resident of Japan since 2005.
  • In 2009, Florent passed the exams to become a “Nihon-cha Instructor” (No. 10-2506), and thus became the first French “Japanese Tea Instructor” in Japan.
  • From September 2009 to February 2014, he worked as a salesman at Maruyama-en Honten, which has a number of Japanese tea boutiques in the Tôkyô region. In that capacity, he also gave many seminars and workshops on Japanese tea to audiences composed of Japanese people!
  • In parallel, in 2010, the Thés du Japon venture began, in which Florent has been in charge of selecting teas and accessories.
  • Since 2009, Florent has also been the author of the French blog entitled “Sommelier en thé japonais”, and its English companion, “Japanese Tea Sommelier”..
  • Since the beginning of 2014, Florent has been devoting himself full time to Thés du Japon, always seeking new teas and handcrafted Japanese products related to tea.
  • In Japan, he regularly leads seminars and holds events on Japanese tea.
  • In 2015 and 2016, he was on the jury for the Nihon-cha Award competition at the level of the first section, responsible for appraising several hundreds of extremely varied Japanese teas.

Concerning our selection and our philosophy of tea

“As a Nihon-cha Instructor, I want to contribute to better knowledge and appreciation of authentic Japanese tea and handicrafts that are of high quality and without artifice, both in Japan and abroad. The way and area where it is grown, the cultivar (in oenology, we would speak of the variety or cépage), the way it is processed and finished, the infusion, and even the accessories used are all factors that need to be taken into account when we are speaking of tea. However, they are also what make it so fascinating.
For this reason, I offer a very broad range of Japanese teas, most of which are rare, produced in very small quantities and grown on unique plantations, bringing out the special features of each location and each producer. I prefer to avoid blends, which remain the major trend in Japan. This is why I place so much importance on cultivars. Lastly, the general orientation of my selection is toward “short steamed” mountain teas. I offer very few fukamushi chas.
I lead seminars and hold events regularly in Japan, and the message that I try to convey is that Japanese tea is a rich, varied, deep product that needs to be appreciated for pleasure, like a fine wine, and not for so-called medicinal virtues, Tea’s pleasure also lies in its preparation and its relationship with objects, especially teapots, that are beautiful and of high quality.”
Florent Weugue
(Nihon-cha Instructor n°10-2506)

Why this site?

The purpose of this site is to share with you the team’s passion for Japanese teas in all their diversity while at the same time discovering Japan’s cultural wealth. Our products are shipped directly from Japan to clients around the world. We offer you the highest quality teas at the same prices as in Japan.

Our teas

Most of our teas are high-quality first harvest teas (ichiban-cha). They are vacuum packed so that they keep fresh and retain their quality for a long time.

Our company

Made up of French and Japanese tea enthusiasts, Thés du Japon reflects the complexity and high standards required to operate at the world-class level. Thés du Japon is governed by Japanese law, and is registered at the Osaka Chamber of Commerce in Western Japan.

En direct du Japon, des thés sélectionnés pour vous par notre Sommelier en Thé Japonais

A propos de Thés du Japon

Notre Histoire

« Thés du Japon » est l'histoire d'une rencontre entre deux français qui se croisent dans ce merveilleux et passionnant pays qu'est le Japon.
Ils y vivent de très longue date, plus de deux décennies et connaissent toute la complexité et le raffinement de nos amis japonais.
L'un d'eux, Florent Weugue, en charge notemment de la sélection des thés et des accessoires, premier sommelier français du thé japonais (Nihon-cha Instructor, ou Japanese Tea Instructor), diplômé en 2009, est une figure reconnue dans ce milieu de spécialistes où l'exigence n'a rien d'une simple aventure.
C'est une passion, un sens aigu du goût et beaucoup de dévotion …

Notre sommelier en thé japonais

Le premier Français au Japon à avoir obtenu le diplôme de "Nihon-cha Instructor"

  • Florent Weugue est résident au Japon depuis 2005.
  • En 2009, Florent réussi les examens pour devenir "Nihon-cha instructor" (n°10-2506), et devient ainsi le premier Français "Instructeur en thé japonais" au Japon.
  • De septembre 2009 à février 2014, il travaille comme vendeur chez Maruyama-en Honten, qui possède plusieurs boutiques de thé japonais dans la région de Tôkyô. A ce titre il tient aussi de nombreux séminaires et ateliers sur le thé japonais, et ce à destination d'un public composé de Japonais !
  • En parallèle, à partir de 2010 commence l'aventure Thés du Japon, où Florent est en charge de la sélection des thés ainsi que des accessoires.
  • Florent est aussi depuis 2009 l'auteur du blog "Sommelier en thé japonais".
  • Depuis le début 2014, Florent se consacre à temps-plein à Thés du Japon toujours à la recherche de nouveaux thés et produits de l'artisanat japonais liés au thé.
  • Il tient régulièrement au Japon des séminaires et évènements sur le thé japonais.
  • Il fut juré en 2015 et 2016 pour le concours Nihon-cha Award pour la première sélection devant départager plusieurs centaines de thés japonais très variés.

A propos de notre sélection et de notre philosophie du thé

"En tant que Nihoncha Instructor, je voudrais participer à une meilleure connaissance et appréciation du thé et de l'artisanat japonais authentiques, de qualité et sans artifice, au Japon comme à l'étranger. La culture, la région productrice, le cultivar (en œnologie on parlerait de cépage), le mode de fabrication, de finition, l'infusion, et même les accessoires utilisés sont autant de paramètres qui entrent en compte lorsque l'on parle de thé. Mais ce sont aussi autant d'éléments qui le rendent passionnant.
Ainsi, je propose une très large variété de thés japonais, pour la plupart rares, produits en très petites quantités et provenant de plantations uniques, mettant en avant les particularités de chaque terroir et producteur. Je préfère éviter les blends qui restent la tendance majoritaire au Japon. Aussi, j’accorde une grande importance aux cultivars. Enfin, la tendance générale de ma sélection se porte sur les thés de montagnes à l’étuvage « court », et ne propose que peu de fukamushi cha.
Je tiens régulièrement des séminaires et évènements au Japon, et le message que je m’efforce de faire passer est que le thé japonais est un produit riche, varié, profond et qui doit être apprécié pour le plaisir, comme un bon vin par exemple, et non pour de soi-disant vertues médicinales. Le plaisir du thé réside aussi en partie dans sa préparation, le rapport à des objets, la théière en particulier, beaux et de qualité.”
Florent Weugue
(Nihon-cha Instructor n°10-2506)

Pourquoi ce site ?

Ce site à pour objet de vous faire partager la passion de l'équipe pour les thés japonais dans toutes leurs diversités tout en découvrant les richesses culturelles du pays.
Nos produits sont expédiés du Japon vers le monde entier, vous offrant des thés de la meilleure qualité aux mêmes prix qu'au Japon.

Nos thés

La plus grande partie de nos thés sont des premières récoltes (ichiban-cha) de qualité, et sont conditionnés sous vide, ainsi ils conservent pour longtemps toute leur fraicheur et leurs qualités.

La société

Composée de français et japonais elle reflète la complexité et l'exigence requises pour s'élever au plus haut niveau. Nous sommes une société de droit japonais déclarée au registre du commerce d'Osaka dans l'Ouest du Japon.