Gourmet teas straight from Japan, selected for you by our sommelier


Sencha from Nearai, Shizu-Inzatsu 131 cultivar

Type of tea : fukamushi sencha
Origin : Nearai, Kita Borough, Hamamatsu City, Shizuoka Prefecture
Cultivar : Shizu-Inzatsu 131
Harvest : April 25th 2017
Sencha from Nearai, Shizu-Inzatsu 131 cultivar

Click to enlarge


The community of Nearai is located to the north of the city of Hamamatsu, at the foot of the Tenryû mountains. This Inzatsu 131, made by Mr. Tarui, is a fukamushi sencha that is unique in its style.
Shizu-inzatsu 131 was developed in the 1940s by the famous Professor Arima, a great visionary, who left a deep mark on the world of Japanese tea. This is a variety grown from a seed from a tea tree from Assam: Manipuli 15. It is thus a cross between an Assam variety and a Japanese tea tree. It is an early cultivar with very special aromas that, perhaps because it was too far ahead of its time, never managed to become widespread, despite the work of a handful of passionate visionaries. Today, Inzatsu 131 is known for its crosses with Yabukita that have produced renowned cultivars, such as Sôfû, Fuji-kaori and Kondô-wase.
This Inzatsu 131 is grown using organic methods, in earth enriched by adding green schist from the upper course of the Tenryû River, upon the advice of Professor Arima.
What makes the manufacturing method at the Nearai factory unique is the use of Akitsu-design machines. The machines, which are no longer made today, are based specifically on Professor Arima’s work, with hot air processing of the leaves after steaming, and especially a continuous line, where the leaves were always moving, advancing through the different phases of rolling.
The result is an astonishing fukamushi, very rich and fragrant, but which, unlike most teas called “fukamushi” remains limpid and holds up very well through many infusions.
The leaves have a sweet, floral fragrance that is quite unusual, and infusion makes it even more complex and intense.
In the mouth, it is a very full, rich tea, with no heaviness. The astringency that the Shizu-inzatsu 131 cultivar can sometimes develop is very much under control here, and the liquor is mellow and sweet, yet the umami is not too obvious. There are also sweet aromas of green peas and cooked white beans. Depending on the infusion and liquor temperatures, the palette of flavours varies greatly. The changes between the different infusions are also interesting. When the astringency appears, the floral fragrances and aromas become stronger also.
While this tea may not necessarily please everybody, it is worth discovering, even being studied. On one hand, it is an exceptional cultivar, an important part of the modern history of Japanese tea, and, on the other hand, it is a product of a unique approach to production that delivers a different vision of fukamushi-cha.

Brewing suggestion
  • Quantity of leaves: 4g / 1.3 tsp
  • Quantity of water : 70ml / 1/3 cup
  • Water temperature : 80°C / 176°F
  • Brewing time : 50s

cat-shizuoka cat-131


Sencha from Nearai, Shizu-Inzatsu 131 cultivar
SNC-66-001-050

USD $20.00  / 50g





Add to Cart:

En direct du Japon, des thés sélectionnés pour vous par notre Sommelier en Thé Japonais


Sencha de Nearai, cultivar Shizu-Inzatsu 131

Type de thé : fukamushi sencha (étuvage long)
Origine : Département de Shizuoka, ville de Hamamatsu, arrondissement Kita, Nearai
Cultivar : Shizu-Inzatsu 131
Récolte : Avril 2016
Sencha de Nearai, cultivar Shizu-Inzatsu 131

Cliquez pour agrandir


Shizu-inzatsu 131 fut développé dans les années 40 par le célèbre professeur Arima, un grand visionnaire qui laissa une empreinte profonde dans le monde du thé japonais. C'est une variété issue d'une graine d'un théier de Assam, Manipuli 15. Il s'agit donc d'un croisement entre une variété de Assam et d'un théier japonais. C'est un cultivar hâtif possédant des arômes très particuliers, qui, arrivé trop tôt peut être, ne parvint jamais à s'imposer malgré le travail d'une poignée de passionnés visionnaires. Aujourd'hui Inzatsu 131 est connu pour ses croisement avec Yabukita donnant des cultivars illustres tels que Sôfû, Fuji-kaori ou Kondô-wase.
Cet Inzatsu 131 est cultivé avec des méthodes bio, sur un sol enrichi par ajout de schiste vert provenant du cour supérieur de la rivière Tenryû, sur les conseils du professeur Arima.
Ce qui rend unique la méthode de fabrication de l'usine de Nearai est l'utilisation de machines de type Akitsu. Ces machines, qui ne sont plus fabriquées aujourd'hui, se basent sur les travaux du professeur Arima justement, avec un traitement à l'air chaud des feuilles après étuvage, et surtout une ligne fabrication en continue, où les feuilles sont toujours en mouvement, avançant toujours dans les différentes phases de malaxage.
Le résultat est un fukamushi étonnant, très riche, parfumé, qui, à la différence de la plupart des thés dits « fukamushi » reste limpide et tient très bien plusieurs infusions.
Les feuilles ont un parfum sucré et floral assez particulier, que l'infusion vient rendre plus complexe et intense encore.
En bouche c'est un thé très plein et riche, mais sans lourdeur. L'astringence que peut développer parfois ce cultivar Shizu-inzatsu 131 est très bien estompée ici, et la liqueur est douce et sucrée, mais sans umami trop sensible. On y trouve aussi des arômes doux de petits pois ou haricots blanc cuits. En fonction de la température d'infusion comme la température de la liqueur la palette de saveurs varient beaucoup. L’évolution entre les différentes infusions est aussi intéressante. Alors que l'astringence apparaît, parfums et arômes floraux deviennent plus forts aussi.
Si ce thé ne plaira pas forcément à tout le monde, il mérite d'être découvert, d'être étudié même. Il s'agit d'une part d'un cultivar exceptionnel, part importante de l'histoire moderne du thé japonais, et d'autre part d'un mode de fabrication unique qui donne une vision différente du fukamushi-cha.

Proposition de méthode d'infusion
  • Quantité de feuilles: 4g
  • Quantité d'eau : 70ml
  • Température de l’eau : 80°C
  • Durée d'infusion : 50s

cat-shizuoka cat-131


Sencha de Nearai, cultivar Shizu-Inzatsu 131
SNC-66-001-050

€14.82  / 50g





Ajouter au Panier :